Sponsored by: Moser

F150 + 5th wheel?

Search this Thread

Old 08-27-2013, 08:49 PM
DJL66
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
F150 + 5th wheel?

Looking for a little help. Last year I ordered an F150 Screw with 6.5 box, Off Road and trailer tow packages with the idea of pulling a travel trailer. Well I am now looking at the possibility of a fifth wheel and was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on how my truck would pull it. I have the 5.0 with 3.73 gears. The 5th wheel is a Cougar 27 SAB with a pin weight of #1100 and GVW of around #7500. Any ideas as I am new to RV'ing.
Thanks, Don

Old 08-28-2013, 07:12 PM
Jus2shy
Elder User
Well, the weight police would jump on you with those specs over at RV.NET. Many members there have good advice on what you need to consider when picking a 5th wheel. I suggest you check it out. In directly answering your post, you should think of a few things:
1. How much is your truck "REALLY" hauling? How much is the pin weight when you load your trailer full of water, gear, food? 1100 lbs now could easily balloon to 1700 lbs later. A gallon of water is about 8 lbs. So 50 gallons of water alone is 400 lbs if you drive around with a full water tank.
2. How much does your hitch weigh? You have to factor that into your truck's payload. The brace and hitch itself will add a minimum of 100lbs to your truck, most likely 150lbs for lighter duty.
3. How much does all your payload weigh? Basically, the weight of you + family + gear + whatever else you plan to keep in your truck.