Garage & Workshop Tips & Ideas for the garage or workshop. No Truck Tech Discussion   

Tool preference?

Search this Thread

Old 04-26-2013, 08:52 PM
curkey
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tool preference?

I was just wondering what make of tools you guys/gals use. Snap-On and Mac come around the shop peddling their wares every two weeks. Today a Matco truck showed up. I have a mix of Mastercraft, Snap-On, Mac and Milwaukee tools. I have no experience with Matco tools but their stuff looks pretty nice. Anyways, the point of my long winded post is what do you prefer for air, electric, and hand tools?

Old 04-27-2013, 06:26 AM
tjc transport
i ain't rite
Received 3,108 Likes on 2,168 Posts
air is old ingersol rand or chicago pneumatic.
hand tools are a mix match of snap on, mac, matco, craftsman, and harbor freight stiff for in the truck so if it gets lost no big deal.

Old 04-27-2013, 06:27 AM
JWA
Fleet Owner
Received 1,394 Likes on 1,103 Posts
I myself have a collection including Cornwell, Snap On, Wright, SK but my corded and cordless tools are mostly all older Milwaukee stuff, that still made in the USA at the time.

Have a few no-name pneumatic tools basically bought for one-off jobs but lasted a good 20+ years with just occasional use. If an impact gun were a daily use item I'd have Ingersoll-Rand's USA made stuff---Snap On pricing but one of the best impacts around. (I have a Snap On bought in the early 90's that still works perfectly--gets used about once a year though.)

The biggest decision factor in my tool purchases tends to be the best quality, price somewhat irrelevant. So far I've lost far more tools than have ever failed on me which is good I think.