86 Feedback system EGR question

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2013, 06:44 PM
rustfreemike
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
86 Feedback system EGR question

Hi - I'm new to this excellent forum. I just bought an '86 300 powered F150 XLT Lariat from the original owner in New Jersey. It's super rusty underneath and has over 250,000 miles but I just drove it down to Florida without a hitch. The PO wasn't a car/truck guy so he paid a mechanic to do everything - I have a stack of receipts dating back to when he took delivery all those years ago.

Long story short. The Feedback carb system is about 98% intact but every hose is a crumbling, dried out mess. I don't hear any vacuum leaks but I'm sure it'll happen soon. Also the 'emissions' light doesn't come on at start-up. I believe it's been removed. I haven't yet pulled any codes but it runs pretty well - issue is I only got 15 MPG on the trip from Jersey to FL. That was with 2 200lb people in the car and about 400 pounds of stuff in the bed. Also running snow tires in the back. We were babying it a little and staying around 70-75mph. 15 MPG seems a little low - just wondering what you guys think?

Also - I've spent a lot of time searching this site but I wasn't able to find an answer to this question: The parts of the feedback system that are really in bad shape are the Air-pump, vapor recovery and EGR... If that stuff isn't working correctly will it affect how the ECM functions? Would an issue with it put the computer into 'limp home mode'? Can I just get the various engine management sensors into shape and leave the other emissions stuff alone and still expect the computer to function properly? Need to get it running as well as I can as cheaply as possible.

Thanks!
rustfreemike

Old 03-03-2013, 08:46 PM
Galendor
Posting Guru

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Originally Posted by rustfreemike

15 MPG seems a little low - just wondering what you guys think?