Sponsored by:

85- 87 bronco tinkering

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2013, 06:47 PM
85bronco85
New User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
85- 87 bronco tinkering

Hi fellas. im kev and i just was given a 85 ford bronco with a 87 efi block. i have a lot of work to do to it but in trying to take care of the most obvious things first. this is my first project and first ford so any help or advise is well appriciated. i have an issue with the blender lever. i can see it moving under the dash chanving the flap but the vents never turn off and i dont have much for defrosters at all. leaving for work gets a little daring in the morning sesnce i leave at 6. the other issue i have is the idle. its an 87 block but its not efi. it has a motor craft carb and a new manual chocke. wether its warm or cold the idle seams to high. when i put her in gear and drive it and **** through the gears, every time i push the clutch in the idle kicks a little higher, and when i come to a stop sign the idle comes up a lot like its cold. and yes i have turned the chock off once warmed up. but it still dose it. if i crack the throtle fast and a little hard it will come down but the next stop its high again. i was thinking maby the carb needs a cleaning. hope some one can give me some advice. if needed i can do a video with my phone so u guys under stand what im talking about. thanks fellas.

Old 01-30-2013, 11:53 PM
Torky2
Fleet Mechanic
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Welcome aboard!

The lever for temperature control just moves the temperature blend door. There are vacuum motors that open/close other doors to direct air flow to defroster, dash vents, floor outlet. For safety, the default no-vacuum position is DEFROST.

Do you get much airflow out of any outlet, or does the fan just seem to make a lot of noise but little airflow?