N. California Chapter Join Chapter , Leader: Nighteyez

newish to Sacramento

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2012, 11:55 PM
HillBillyBuddha
Senior User
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
newish to Sacramento

Actually been here in Sacramento almost a year now from Miami. My girl grew up out this way and her dad isn't well so we left our lives out east and headed to Sac so she could be near her family.

I'm a bartender by trade (22years now) and I owned a small vintage motorcycle shop in Miami with my buddy Ryan. He was going to keep the shop going while I was gone but he closed it d down a few months ago. Brought most of my tools, blast cabinet, compressor, etc. Except most of my tools are metric, so won't help much with this project.

I just picked up 1966 Ford F250 Camper Special Custom Cab. Barely ran when I got it. But I did manage to drive it home from the delta area. 45 mins to get there and another 2 and a half hours to get back. Stalled every chance it got. While it's still not tuned and needs a lot of work before it'll be a reliable daily driver, I'm putting in the time and at least I can drive her around without stalling now. (Although part of me wants to find find a good 'ol boy mechanic that knows the FE 352 engine and could just dial her in) I may take twice as long to figure out a problem and make twice as many mistakes along the way, I have never met an engine to couldn't master in the end.

Besides my truck, I'm rebuilding my girls Explorer sport's transmission. Has the M5OD aka M5R1. Well, actually I pulled one from pick n' pull a couple weeks ago that I'm rebuilding (got it taken apart, cleaned up and ordered the parts today) so hopefully that'll be rebuilt by next week

Anyway, I'm Joel. Anyone else like wrenching around here?

Old 12-12-2012, 09:37 AM
DarrellinCeres
Tuned
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts