Low Vacuum/Carb Problem Carter YF

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2012, 06:58 PM
jbwolfe
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Low Vacuum/Carb Problem Carter YF

Hi all, my first post here. My daily driver is a 1981 Ford F-150 that my brother gave me about a year ago. It's got a 300 straight six, and a 4 speed OD transmission.

I'm having some trouble, and am hoping to get some help. I'm new to working on vehicles, but am learning a lot over the past few years since I started driving, especially because everything I drive seems to break down often. So hear is the story:

Early last year I had a local shop rebuild the carb on this truck. It's a Carter Single Barrel, YF. Or is it a YFA? Not sure how to tell. They rebuilt the whole carb, and machined the throttle body, as the throttle shaft had a lot of play in it.

Right away it seemed to run fine, I've just always had problems with the choke. I'd hit the gas once to set the choke, start it, and it would be idling WAY to high until I kick it down. I don't have a tach so I'm not sure how high. Anyway, I had them adjust it a couple times, but it was still too high. Long story short, I didn't end up taking it back for an adjustment until a month of so ago, because the warranty only lasts a year. After there adjustment, for a couple weeks it was great! I'd hit the gas, start it, and it would idle just fine and warm up fine. Then the cold idle started to creep back up to being to high, so I took it back to the shop again. They messed with it for a couple days and said that they backed down the cold idle as far as it would go, but it was still at about 1800 RPM.