Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

CB Installation

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2002, 09:31 PM
Nutter
Elder User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CB Installation

[updated:LAST EDITED ON 11-Sep-02 AT 10:32 PM (EST)]I tried to get some info in the audio systems topic but didn't
get much feed back there.So thought I'd try here.

I want to install my Cobra 29 ltd Classic in my 88 F150 manual but
can't put it in the ashtray spot(shifting clearence)as in my 88F150 auto.I'm thinking
of putting it overhead. But I'm wondering how much space there is
between inner steel and outershell(don't wana poke the screws through
the roof). Has anyone done this before or know any thing about it.

Could use the info as I'm a grounded Hwy Pilot due to injury since
I can't run the big truck and brag about how fast my big truck goes
and how much the waitresses want me. I can drive around in my little
truck and brag about how fast it goes and how much my wife hates me
being home.

Any input would help THX

Old 09-11-2002, 10:14 PM
kiksomepoo
Junior User
CB Installation

I have seen custom installs done by a apulstry(spelling?) place. I dont think it costed too much. They put it in there ran the wires behind the cloth.. down the side of the door, then to the battery and antenna. Looked pretty nice, I dunno if you could Ghetto rig it up there but you might want to see how much they would charge to make it look all pretty and professional.

Old 09-11-2002, 10:52 PM
Ford Truck Racer
Elder User
CB Installation

I have buckets and I thinking of mounting upright behind the gearshift. I seen several other ways though, on top of the dash and under the dash next to the gearshift for your clearance. But I do beleive you can mount in the roof if you use and inch screw or less. May try taking of a trim panel and feel for clearance.

Old 09-12-2002, 06:38 AM