1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

lock pin that wont budge

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2012, 04:44 PM
jerryst
More Turbo
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
lock pin that wont budge

i am trying to remove the pin bolt that holds the clutch, and brake pedal on my 55 f100. I have had no success with soaking it with wd40 and trying to leverage it out. someone suggested heating up the surrounding area with a torch and then it may come out. the only problem is the gas tank is near by. can anyone suggest any tips. And steps to use a torch. I have never done this before.

Jerry

Old 04-19-2012, 05:18 PM
FortyNiner
Logistics Pro
Received 290 Likes on 168 Posts
Jerry
I'm confused on the bolt that is torturing you. Any pics you can share?

DW

Old 04-19-2012, 06:56 PM
oldmerc
oldmerc
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
You could try to use the old homemade penetrating oil that I use . 1 part acetone:1 part
ATF ,the stuff is amazing . As for heating just use a propane plumbing/utility torch with MAP gas (yellow)bottle heating the components that the pin/bolt are housed in ,direct flame away from gas tank . It does not take long to apply enough heat for expansion to occur . Work outside have fire extinguisher handy say short prayer .Oh yeah send picture .

Old 04-19-2012, 07:26 PM
teardropty
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by jerryst
i am trying to remove the pin bolt that holds the clutch, and brake pedal on my 55 f100. I have had no success with soaking it with wd40 and trying to leverage it out. someone suggested heating up the surrounding area with a torch and then it may come out. the only problem is the gas tank is near by. can anyone suggest any tips. And steps to use a torch. I have never done this before.

Jerry
Are you referring to the roller pin at the end of the shaft nearest the transmission? If so you need a rounded metal punch. With a good punch and half pound sledge it will move.