Newbie needs advice!

Search this Thread

Old 02-13-2012, 08:10 AM
dwk1979f250
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie needs advice!

Hello everyone,
I recently purchased a 79 f-250. It has a 351m and seems to be a recent engine. The truck was sitting for a year prior to me buying it. Would you guys please suggest a list of simple upgrades? Or any ideas on things to look at? I was thinking about plugs, wires, distributor cap, fuel filter (back fired and cut out a few times) ect. I am not a mechanic by any means but as with anything else, there's only one way to figure it out and that's tearing into it and learning it. I know this is a very vague question and I apologize. as my grand dad would say "take advice from your elders and give advice to those younger" well... I need some advice

Old 02-13-2012, 08:33 AM
CalebJns
Posting Guru
First off....WELCOME TO FTE! The Greatest Site, with the GREATEST KNOWLEDGE around! Great to hear about your "NEW" truck!

Plugs, Wires, Distributor Cap, Fuel Filter (Check to see if you have more than one)...I have two installed on mine, one before the fuel pump, to protect the delicate parts in the pump, and one between the pump and carb. Fluid Change...wouldn't hurt to drain and flush the radiator. I always install a new radiator cap on vehicles I purchase. Oil Change, check the transmission fluid, check the level of fluid in the rear axial, brake fluid, power steering, etc...Wiper blades, make sure all your lights are working (easiest at night), air filter...I'm sure there is lots more, but that should get you going in the right direction...

Also post some pics of it. Upload your pics to an alternate photo storage site (Photobucket or something of the sort), get the img code from the pic, and copy and paste it in your message...when you click submit, the pics will appear. Just remember that wherever you copy and paste the img file from, if you move the pictures, your have to update the link...