Notices
2009 - 2014 F150 Discuss the 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 Ford F150
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Moser

steering/FRT end clunk from leveling kit!

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2012, 10:57 PM
fordtorque
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
steering/FRT end clunk from leveling kit!

hello everyone,

i am a 3 year automotive tech at a ford dealership so i read everything about the clunk caused by striking the EPAS tie rod end knuckles causing arcing in the internal module,blah blah. been through this many times with my old truck.due to installing leveling kit in the front which requires disasembling the front end.

now,present date i just got another 2011 f150 supercrew 4x4 with the 5.0L and EPAS.

decided i would install the front 2.5" leveling kit for more agressive looks and be able to put bigger tires on.
so i practiced the proceadure many times in my head as per the Ford motor company workshop manual which states before doing any front end disasembly unhook the neg battary cable,do not use air tools on the tie rod end nuts and use a tie rod end press to remove the tie rods from the steering knuckles,which i exactly did everything

i didnt even use air tools on anything except the tires!! i hand tooled everything to install my leveling kit and torqued everything to spec.

after all said and done i thought everything would be fine.went for a weekend trip to the city and noticed the fu*king clunk is back!!!

so for all of you with past experiences with this and hopefully some other ford automotive techs out there let me know if this could be something else loose? like i said i was super careful and did everything per the FORD WORKSHOP MANUAL which really fu*king pisses me off.

i mean since i did it as per the manual states,what if another truck comes in and needs a ball joint replaced which requires removing the front end parts,tie rods,etc. are you going to fu*k up the EPAS and cause a clunk?