460 Swap Trouble "HELP"

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2011, 11:21 PM
rikharris
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
460 Swap Trouble "HELP"

Hi everyone,

I am brand new to the forum! Been reading everything I could find on swaping a 351m to a 460... Truck is a 78 F150 4X4 with granny 4 speed trans....

I got past some small bumps and now I am having my first big major problem. We got the motor in place tonight and the basics hooked up. We hit the key and the motor went about a quarter/half rotation and seemed to seize up. Now the starter will not turn the motor. Everything seemed to slide together ok once it dropped into the mount perches. But now every other time I hit the key the motor only moves about an 1/8th inch. I loosened the trans bolts up at the Bell opened a small gap hit the Key and still same problem!

Here is the list of what I installed.... (Keep in Mind I am not a mechanic) so please talk in lamens terms and pretend I am stupid LOL

Internaly Balanced 78 or older 460 (According to the block casting #)

My Original 351m Bellhousing, Opened up the Tin shield to clear the crank.

302 Pilot bearing... and drove it in as far as it would go into the second register (Deepest) in the crank. The bearing did have a very slight lip on it and I have know way of knowing how deep it is suposed to go in there.

184 tooth 352/390 flywheel neutrally balanced, from Jegs... Part #555-601370

Clutch mounting holes did not line up like they promised for my stock 351m 11" Clutch, so I took it to a machine shop and had them drill/tap it for my existing clutch and preasure plate assembly.

Transdapt 460 swap motor mounts.....

Re-used my 351m starter. It seems to engage the flywheel perfectly.... I would think it would be strong enough to turn it but have now idea how old it is.

We put the truck in the air and put a 1/2" drive ratchet on the front of the crank, used a pipe for leverage and we cannot turn the motor clockwise!