1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

MOUNTING FIBERGLASS RUNNING BOARDS

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2011, 08:59 PM
jniolon
old and in the way
Received 727 Likes on 259 Posts
MOUNTING FIBERGLASS RUNNING BOARDS

LOOKING FOR SUGGESTIONS/IDEAS/INSTRUCTIONS for mounting and attaching slick fiberglass running boards to the supports...

don't want any mounting hardware to show and spoil the nice smooth boards.. anyone got any suggestions or ideas they've used.

thanks
john

Old 08-09-2011, 09:10 PM
bobbytnm
Roast em' if you got 'em
Received 3,843 Likes on 1,842 Posts
Can you glass in a stud on the bottom side of the board? Or maybe glass in a block on the bottom side to screw a fastener into?

I've no experience with attaching fiberglass boards, I'm just tossing out ideas
Bobby

Old 08-09-2011, 09:27 PM
52 Merc
Hotshot
Received 2,451 Likes on 1,398 Posts
Imho, Bobby's got it. Either bond and 'glass in some studs, or a drilled and tapped 1/2" steel block that you can run either studs or a bolt into.

Old 08-09-2011, 09:38 PM
CharlieLed
Lead Driver
Received 467 Likes on 303 Posts