1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

OT - Big Changes on the Horizon AGAIN!

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2011, 12:32 PM
BlueOvalRage
Cargo Master

Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
OT - Big Changes on the Horizon AGAIN!

I've been lurking daily, but I really haven't posted much for the last 8 or 9 months. I haven't felt like doing a whole lot of anything really. I've been working for my company for 5 1/2 years now. I didn't realize it when I took the job, but it is a dying industry and they've really taken it on the chin in this economy. In the last 2 1/2 years, I've survived 5 rounds of layoffs, taken 4 weeks of unpaid furlough, and had my pay frozen twice. They're already looking at another round of layoffs in December, more furloughs in the first quarter, and wage reductions after that if the economy is still floundering. All this while our CEO has been pulling down record 7-figure bonuses for all the money he has "saved" the company.

All this doom, gloom, and uncertainty has really sucked the life out of me. I've got a wife, 3 kids, 2 car payments, and a mortgage to worry about. It's affected my general attitude and my marriage and friendships have started to suffer as a result. As much as I HATE changing jobs, it was time to do something about this before I found myself unemployed or it ended up costing me a wife and family. With so many others completely unemployed, I'm nervous about making a change and dealing with all the risk and newness that comes with it, but sometimes it's just worth it.