General Diesel Discussion  
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

why do diesels need high pressure injection?

Search this Thread

Old 06-14-2011, 08:07 PM
Ian123
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
why do diesels need high pressure injection?

Why do diesels need such complicated injection systems such as HEUI or high pressure fuel pumps and gasoline engines dont? I'm guessing its because the fuel going into the cylinder has to be more precise?

Old 06-14-2011, 10:28 PM
dchamberlain
Lead Driver

Received 665 Likes on 425 Posts
I am not an expert. I just am making some educated conclusions based on what little diesel theory that I know.

First, the compression in the cylinder on a diesel engine is very high. Fuel is being injected at or near TDC, when compression is highest. Because of this, you need more pressure to push the fuel into the cylinder.

"Fuel injection" in gas engines is really a misnomer. The fuel isn't injected, it's sprayed out of a nozzle into the airflow above the intake valves. It doesn't take much pressure to do that. (Note: There are new Direct Injected gas engines that do inject fuel directly into the cylinder. I'm not referring to those).

Second, you want to get liquid fuel to come out as a vapor as much as possible. Liquids don't burn, vapors do. Pushing fuel through a very small hole at very high pressure will tend to vaporize it much faster than pushing fuel through a larger hole at a lower pressure.

Gas engines want to vaporize the fuel also, and there fuel injectors are intended to do that as much as possible, but gas engines also have time for the fuel to travel through the intake, valves and into the pistons, during which the fuel can vaporize.

Those are just some reasons that I can think of.

Old 06-14-2011, 10:52 PM
85e150
Super Moderator
Received 1,596 Likes on 1,301 Posts
Old 06-14-2011, 11:36 PM
Ian123
Posting Guru
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts