Notices
1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks 1987 - 1996 Ford F-150, F-250, F-350 and larger pickups - including the 1997 heavy-duty F250/F350+ trucks
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

HELP 5.8 will not start after swap

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2011, 06:25 PM
hilda
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
HELP 5.8 will not start after swap

Just finished the 302 to 351 swap, only one problem 351 will not start. I have fuel at the test point, and spark at the plugs, but not a single pop. I am a newby to the fuel injections era, so I'm still learning the system. I few questions, How can I tell if the injectors are firing, and two what times the fuel injection to the engine? Both engines 95 roller motors only difference is the 351 is now a MAF, which was already in the new truck, but the truck has not run in 8 years. The 5.8 ran great in the old truck.

Thanks in advance
Jim

Old 03-27-2011, 06:33 PM
cjben
Lead Driver

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
spray some starter fluid or gas(if you don't like the starter fluid idea) into the intake,try to start it that way,if that works you know the problem is fuel related. did you check actual pressure at the valve or just press it down with a screw driver?

Old 03-27-2011, 06:56 PM
hilda
New User
Originally Posted by cjben
spray some starter fluid or gas(if you don't like the starter fluid idea) into the intake,try to start it that way,if that works you know the problem is fuel related. did you check actual pressure at the valve or just press it down with a screw driver?

cjben

I did the screwdriver test. Why didn't I think of the starter fluid, I give it a try tomorrow.

Thanks

Old 03-28-2011, 01:27 AM
94bonestocker
Junior User
Did you remove the Dizzy while doing the swap? Is it possible the timing is off or that its firing 180 deg out i.e. the exhaust stroke?

Old 03-28-2011, 09:22 AM
hilda
New User
It started with the starting fluid.so I have a fuel issue.

Old 03-28-2011, 09:29 AM
Conanski
FTE Legend