Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum41/)
-   -   Hello and project input (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/765900-hello-and-project-input.html)

Stephen67 08-10-2008 11:49 PM

Hello and project input

I figured I'd say hello here since I wanted to discuss my future project. :-wink

Last year I finished my 1967 Mustang ( http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2551391 ) and am dying to do a new project. And I also need a truck since my last one sorta got totalled and blew up (lol not my fault).

I'm a professional Blacksmith ( http://stephen67.deviantart.com/gall...lacksmith-work ) and I currently live in Sheridan, WY but will be moving in a couple months.

I plan on doing a 1956 F100 4x4. I've been researching as much as I can, but it doesn't seem to be a well traveled path. I've seen frame swaps from s-10s to full size broncos and pickups. Truthfully I don't know at this point which would be the best route to go for that, cutting and welding a frame isn't a problem if it sits better. I like large tires and low stances.

The truck will be a work truck (doesn't mean I plan on beating it to death), so it will need to be able to tow, nothing like 20' horse trailers or anything, just a normal trailer. My hope is to find one with decent metal and glass but not one that I will feel guilty about modify so heavily because I really want to have some fun with it.

Any opinions or help is well appreciated.

Looking forward to starting this project and learning more about F100s :)

GreatNorthWoods 08-11-2008 06:05 AM

Blacksmith? Now, there's an occupation you don't run into every day. I can't help with the 4-wd conversion but I did want to welcome you to FTE! :)