Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1987 - 1996 F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum28/)
-   -   Help!! Won't Start??!! (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/565876-help-wont-start.html)

93tankus 01-08-2007 12:25 PM

Help!! Won't Start??!!

Hello All,

I've got a 93' F-150 4.9L that wouldn't start this morning. My wife drove it yesterday and said it ran fine, but when she went to start it this morning, it wouldn't turn over. According to her (I'm at work right now), the dash lights come on, and she can hear one "click", but that's it. I'm hoping it's just a dead battery (she was unsure whether she left the lights on...that's another story!), but I'm miffed that the dash lights would still come on. Any ideas/advice would be greatly appreciated!!

If it is indeed a starter issue, is that a difficult replacement. Kind of a newbie here.

Thanks in advance!!

andym 01-08-2007 12:52 PM

It sounds like the battery to me. A new starter is a piece of cake. Two bolts and it's out.

Lazy K 01-08-2007 12:55 PM

Could be a lot of things but sounds like it could be poor battery connections or poor ground. First things to check anyway.

quicklook2 01-08-2007 01:13 PM

andy, two bolts plus the elec. connections. hahaha

sometimes those two bolts are a pain, but it is not too hard.

check spade connector first. undo it clean connection and put it back on, if it starts than that was the problem. common ford problem.

93tankus 01-08-2007 08:19 PM

Thanks a bunch for the insight, everyone. I really appreciate it. A little bit of an update....