Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum41/)
-   -   48 tilt nose (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/53744-48-tilt-nose.html)

jwcnj45 09-08-2002 04:23 PM

48 tilt nose

Any one out there using a Fairlane one piece glass nose on an F1? I'm just getting started on the fit of mine and find the fit to be less than perfect. I built the hinge for it already but find the fit in the cowl area to be poor. If any of you have encountered the same problem I'd like to hear how you solved it.

Huggy Bear 09-08-2002 06:47 PM

48 tilt nose

There is an article covering this very subject in the August 2002 issue of Custom Classic trucks. It covers in great detail what they did to correct the problem. Hope this helps, and good luck with your problem!

jniolon 09-08-2002 07:41 PM

48 tilt nose

I'm the guy that wrote the article in CCT in August. My truck is a '53 but the fit was much less than perfect on my cowl also... Fairlane was very little help... you can see what we've started to do on my hood... all that's on hold right now... I'm cutting out the volare front clip and putting in a M-II unit.. so the hood in sitting in the corner on it's nose... if you have any specific questions let me know and I'll try to help

john

BTW if you have any good ideas let me know also...

:-X25 :-X04

jwcnj45 09-09-2002 04:12 PM

48 tilt nose

Thanks John for the offer. I know what you mean about Fairlane being of little help. I had expected the front end to fit better in the cowl area than it does. I guess that we're pretty much on our own in making it fit nicely. I know I can make it fit but just thought that maybe someone might have a few ideas to share to make it an easier job. For what they charge for these you would think that it would be an almost bolt on installation.

mikejen10 09-10-2002 07:38 AM

48 tilt nose