Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1999 to 2016 Super Duty (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum30/)
-   -   2000 f250 V10 Shutter in OD along with bad fuel and oil consumption. (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1528797-2000-f250-v10-shutter-in-od-along-with-bad-fuel-and-oil-consumption.html)

Dyork 02-18-2018 09:38 AM

2000 f250 V10 Shutter in OD along with bad fuel and oil consumption.

thanks for the add! Newbie here. I’m new to owning the 6.8 but not new to the 2V engine. I bought my truck recently with a blown out spark plug for cheap. It has 238k miles on it and was a fairly easy fix using the calvan parts. Upon repair the truck smoked very badly (white) for a day or so. I noticed after driving it a bit the smoke would stop after the engine warmed up. The truck had been sitting awhile and I figured it had some bad gas so I filled it up with fresh fuel and continued to drive it hoping all of the shuttering and smoking symptoms would eventually cease. I figured this truck was not taken care of and probably just needed plugs and coils. I changed those and it didn’t seem to help much. I did the engine carbon clean spray and that did make some difference. I am going to do it again today. My main concern is the oil consumption. I changed the pcv but it didn’t seem to make much difference. Right now it looks like I’ve got 1/4 tank left and my odometer says I’ve only driven 172 miles on this tank of fuel. Would carbon buildup cause the smoke and oil use if a valve is really really dirty? Anyone have anything else to suggest? I think my truck is a without ego but will check again. Thanks so much to all of you guys who have been posting here and other places for all these years. Much appreciated.

timjimmy 02-18-2018 09:58 AM