Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1999 - 2003 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum31/)
-   -   HD4R100 - Question (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1527468-hd4r100-question.html)

mtbraun 02-08-2018 08:30 AM

HD4R100 - Question

4 Attachment(s)
I just got a HD4R100 for my son's 2001 F250 from my local Ford dealer. When looking at the trans I noticed the case prep was horrible and they just painted over a bunch of crud and grease on the case.

It's probably nothing and I assume the trans is built fine and there will be no issues. But I can't help think that with case prep this poor that something else was left to slide.

What would you guys do?

Attachment 258127

Attachment 258128

Attachment 258129

Attachment 258130

DieselDenny 02-08-2018 08:58 AM

Roll with it!!!

You have a warranty.

Denny

Sous 02-08-2018 09:08 AM

If it were me (I have no ability, tools or knowledge of how to replace a transmission) I would also install it. Although, I would provide some feedback to the parts department/dealer GM that you bought it from showing them that you were not satisfied with the prep work done to the transmission. At worst they will say "thanks" and send you on your way. At best, you may be offered with something "to make it right".

I would not worry about the internals at all, but would provide feedback to the dealer.

pirschwagon 02-08-2018 12:41 PM

IMO: The outside also reflects the inside. Craftsmanship is a lost Art.

Colorado350 02-08-2018 02:21 PM

Originally Posted by pirschwagon (Post 17785042)

I agree completely! I'd bring it back and ask them Whiskey Tango Foxtrot? Can you easily scrap the grease off that's under the paint? The Dealership charges a premium because they feel they provide a premium product and services. Auto Zone offers a Lifetime Warranty too, but who pays you for your time of swapping out their low quality parts????