Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum38/)
-   -   Can you bleed brakes on a slope? (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1426933-can-you-bleed-brakes-on-a-slope.html)

mbeards 03-21-2016 06:11 PM

Can you bleed brakes on a slope?

The brakes in my 77 F250 4x4 have deteriorated. The pedal goes almost all the way to the floor with no resistance. The truck will stop, but it's a bit unnerving.

I've never worked on brakes before, but it seemed like a classic case of a bad master cylinder. I ordered a replacement and picked up one of those vacuum pump kits. Bench bleeding the master cylinder and replacing it seems very straight forward. I'm not so sure about bleeding the brake system though!

My driveway is a bit of a slope. It's not very steep, but it's definitely not flat. Can I succeed with this if the truck is not flat? If it will work on a slope, would pointing the truck one way or the other be better?

Blue and White 03-21-2016 07:14 PM

I would not think a gentle slope would hurt... though it would be a bit harder to get air out of the downhill side.

If you plan to jack it up and it is safe to do so, you can just set one end lower and level it.

Or... I always prefer to bleed the brakes once, let it settle so any little air bubbles can combine and do it again. You could do it the first time facing one way and second time facing the other. After the first bleed, you should have decent pedal... the second time is to make it as good as possible.

77&79F250 03-21-2016 08:22 PM

I would suggest you get a cheap Chilton or Hanes manual and get to reading on your brake system, like how to bleed them. Then I would suggest you join you FTE state chapter and get some experienced help with your brakes. They are not a learn as you go system..