1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

Engine selection for E150

Search this Thread

Old 12-08-2004, 05:14 PM
spnrgy
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Engine selection for E150

I am a newbie so forgive me if I am posting in the wrong forum, it seemed like the right one.
I am buying a Handicapped Van for myself and am wondering what engine would be the best.
I used to have an F150 with a 5.8L and I loved it, but can't drive it with a broken back.
I have seen vans with a 4.6L V6 and a straight six. I've been told the straight six is good, but how would it measure up against what I'm used to?
HELP!! I don't know the strengths and weaknesses of these various engines!
Somebody please help me out here.

Old 12-09-2004, 09:54 AM
Mike G
Postmaster
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
First off, welcome aboard!

Secondly, what are you looking at as far a year of vehicle? I would definitely check in with the "68 - present Van" forum here and see what the guys there think.

--Mike

Old 12-09-2004, 07:24 PM
frty7ford
Elder User
We could use a little more input like what you are planing on using the van for other than a daily driver what you are looking for in a vehicle. The straight six is a great engine so is the 5.7 or the 5.0 I dont know much about the 4.6 It all depends on what you are using the van for.

Old 01-22-2005, 05:20 PM
spnrgy
Freshman User