1968-Present E-Series Van/Cutaway/Chassis Econolines. E150, E250, E350, E450 and E550

3G Alt Conversion Troubleshooting 89 E250

Search this Thread

Old 03-17-2018, 10:35 AM
Cody Wilson
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
3G Alt Conversion Troubleshooting 89 E250

Alright ladies and gentleman, this may be my first post but I’ve been using these forums for the past 3 years since I got my rig. So thanks in advance for all your insight. Sorry if this post is a little lengthy I’m trying to be detailed for you guys. Pretty much everything I’ve tackled on my own from replacing a cracked exhaust manifold to going through 2 batteries and 2 starters in the span of a few days because my solenoid kept frying everything (then I did the PMGR starter upgrade thank the lord).

Anyway as the title states this is a problem with a 3G upgrade.

My vehicle is a 1989 E250 Club Wagon Coachmen Class B Conversion Van 5.8/C6 with not even 110k miles yet.

I decided to do the upgrade not because I was having problems, but because I am going to use an inverter and solar panels down the road and the higher amperage alternator over the factory 1G would ideally provide a bit more charging towards the House Battery system, since my 1G 100 amp was running everything smoothly already.

Sizing was an initial issue. I had measured my factory 1G - 8.25 inch ears, alright go to O’reilleys to warranty out my 1G and I get my 3G large ear off a 94 4.9 engine. I went to slap that bad boy in and the ears are almost an inch too thick for the top mount hole, forcing you to grind down the alternator ear itself. Seems sketchy, but I did it anyway. That thing did not seem safe bolted up with barely half an inch holding that alternator ear on. I wondered what I was doing wrong for a day or two before I got the bright idea to find a different alternator bracket from a pull yard.