1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

1949 Ford F3 Flathead 6 Starter Problem

Search this Thread

Old 01-28-2018, 02:49 PM
JSPhotographers
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1949 Ford F3 Flathead 6 Starter Problem

Hi There!

First, forgive me as I am new to older vehicles, so my knowledge can be limited at times.
Anyways, I have a 1949 Ford F3 with a Flathead 6 in it. The truck was parked out front (setup as a Christmas display) for December, once the holidays were over it was time to move it. I put a block heater on it for a bit and got her running pretty easily. While waiting for the engine to warm up, I pressed the gas peddle a second too late and she stalled out. Went to start her again and all I heard was the starter spinning freely and not turning the motor. So, we ended up using some tow straps and got her into our garage. Figuring it was the starter, I went ahead and ordered a rebuilt starter for the 6 volt system. I pulled the old starter out and found that one of the bolts that hold the large bendix spring was missing. Grabbed a inspection scope with a magnet tip and was able to fish them out of the bell housing. I got the new starter installed (little tricky getting it in) and went to start her and all I get is a big click from the solenoid when I push the starter. I'm out of ideas, any help would be great!

Thanks!

Old 01-28-2018, 03:08 PM
FortyNiner
Logistics Pro
Received 290 Likes on 168 Posts
Welcome! So, I first need to express my dismay that a photo wasn't included with your post. Clearly some sort of oversight.

To your problem. The 6 volt systems really want all the battery, ground, and starter connection points to be shiny and tight. During your work to replace the starter, if you didn't take efforts to clean up the posts you would be well served to look after them.

Let's start with that and your confirmation that the battery is fully charged.

Old 01-28-2018, 03:10 PM