1973 - 1979 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Dentsides Ford Truck
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Moser

How do I fix rust problems without using bondo or cutting corners?

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2017, 04:22 PM
triplepinned
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How do I fix rust problems without using bondo or cutting corners?

Hello all! I've got a problem.
Keep in mind I am new to restoration work - this is my first project and I want to do it right. I do have people that have experience
and are willing to help me, but I figured others opinions and techniques could give me a better understanding.

My 73' F250 has some small patches of rust with small holes under cab and on the inside of the passenger side door.
Also on the passenger side is where the metal on the outside of the door has been cut? (pictured) Not sure what happened.
I wanted to know if there was any way I could repair these without using bondo or cheap body fillers? Any advice is appreciated!

Attached Images   
Old 11-12-2017, 04:30 PM
77&79F250
Received 3,341 Likes on 2,485 Posts
Cut out the rust, weld in mew metal, prep accordingly and paint.

Old 11-12-2017, 04:32 PM
flowney
Cargo Master
Received 254 Likes on 187 Posts
Not sure what we're looking at here. Is this a tear in the metal or just some old body filler and paint acne?
Best to explore by getting down to the bare metal.

Old 11-12-2017, 04:32 PM
Gater180
Senior User
first of all I applaud you wanting to do things the right way, for me I learned how to weld. Best thing I could have done for myself. Whether it be welding in new body patches or seem welding that slice back together, that is making the truck one piece again, instead of bonding the surfaces. I choose to TIG weld, but MIG welding is alot more user friendly espeically for a first time / new user.

Old 11-12-2017, 04:41 PM
triplepinned
Freshman User
Originally Posted by flowney