Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/index.php)
-   1999 to 2016 Super Duty (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum30/)
-   -   Engine Swap 05 F250 5.4 V8 (https://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/1151627-engine-swap-05-f250-5-4-v8.html)

checkeredflag55 03-30-2012 01:08 PM

Engine Swap 05 F250 5.4 V8

Hay,
I new to all of this and I am not a master mechanic. i can do regular maintenance and that is about it. I been looking for a cheap truck. I found a 2005 F250 Crew Cab it has a blown motor 5.4V8. It is for sale for $2000 obo. I have been looking online and I wanted to put a 460 big block in but I have decided to go with a 427 stroker small block. I figured it would be easier to swap out and I should be able to use the stock transmission. How easy would the swap be? Now the truck has 180,000 miles on it so maybe I should get a new transmission? What is your opinions of my idea how do you think it will run? I am not to concern with mileage but what do think it would get.

parkland 03-30-2012 02:02 PM

What is going to control the transmission?

I don't think this would be an easy swap, why not buy a built up 5.4 ?

Psyclopse 03-30-2012 06:13 PM

You'll definitely have your hands full with this swap. You'd need a stand-alone controller for the transmission for sure. If you change transmissions, then you'll likely be getting into changing the length of the driveshaft (driveshafts if it's a 4x4). Then you'll have to get the gauges working and all.

Where do you live? If you live in a state that does emissions checks, you may never be able to get it legal to operate on the roads. Keep in mind too that if you don't follow the project through to the finish (including making sure everything works) that your resale value will be pretty much wiped out. You're buying a truck with a blown motor for $2K, but once you start hacking the wires, you'd be lucky to even hold that value unless you finish it right.