simplest wiring...help!

Search this Thread

Old 05-14-2009, 07:48 PM
SHEFFBOY2
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
simplest wiring...help!

i am running new wires in my truck. i have an hei 1-wire dist. and a gm 1-wire alternator, and a universal starter switch that has 4 terminals on back. they are battery, ignition, accessory, and starter. this is my first time jumping into rewiring a vehicle, so i don't know the best way to set it up. i am going to wire up a generic 6-fuse block so i can power my tach, wipers, and other necessities. so lets assume that im an idiot when explaining this to me, so we don't skip over small(important) details. so this is how im thinking it should be done...please correct me where wrong.

from starter switch: starter terminal goes to "s" on solenoid.
battery terminal goes to battery with an in-line fuse.
accessory terminal goes to fuse block via relay(acc goes to terminal 86, terminal 30 goes to battery with in-line fuse, terminal 85 goes to ground, terminal 87 goes to main power of fuse block)

i'm not sure what to do with the ignition terminal because many people have said that the "I" terminal on the solenoid should be wired to the distributor, so thats a question i need answered...where should the distributor wire go?

i think thats about it...after i get this all wired up i can start wiring things into the block and start blowing fuses lol. please let me know if there is a better way. i had it running before, but now that i'm going more complex, im a bit out of my league.

Old 05-15-2009, 09:59 AM
SHEFFBOY2
Freshman User
c'mon guys, i have a bog in 2 weeks...i find it hard to believe that nobody knows how to wire this stuff up... would it be better to run a relay off the ignition terminal(back of key) that connects the battery to the dizzy? with a fuse between battery and relay of course...

Old 05-15-2009, 12:52 PM
Franklin2
Received 1,719 Likes on 1,390 Posts