1997-2006 Expedition & Navigator 1997 - 2002 and 2003 - 2006 Ford Expedition and Lincoln Navigator Discussion

2003 Expedition 5.4L COP/spark plugs problem

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2007, 01:19 PM
taimgxe
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2003 Expedition 5.4L COP/spark plugs problem

My check engine light just cam on and I went to AutoZone and they said I had a misfire on the #3 and #5 cylinder. I would like to do it myself, but I am not a mechanic, I am trying, so I need more details or better yet diagrams... I would appreciate it any information or links that you can provide me. I bought 2 Motorcraft coils and 8 Autolite spark plugs... Figured I would replace all of the plugs. I have 76k on it. got the grease and lubricant, too. What tools should I go with...?

Old 09-01-2007, 01:28 PM
kc5gxl
Senior User
Spark plug socket, extension & ratchet, plug gapper for the plugs. To replace the coils just unplug them and plug the new ones in.

Dan Harriman 84 F150 lwb
Orange, Texas

Old 09-01-2007, 01:33 PM
taimgxe
New User
Thanks for the quick reply. Anything else would be greatly appreciated!

Old 09-02-2007, 03:33 PM
taimgxe
New User
Check Engine Light still on after coil and plug replacement

I took my Expedition to the Ford Dealership here and paid for the diagnostic to determine why the check engine light was on. My truck was idling rough!!! The report came back with #3 and #5 misfiring - Change Ignition Coil and Spark Plug. Ford wanted $600.00 to change out the two coils and spark plugs. With the diagnostic charge and the parts at Autozone, it cost me about $225.00.

Well, the good news is that with my father's help we changed the coil and plug on #3 and #5 after 5 hours... (With the help of the instructions from Dave West column on changing the spark plugs on a F-150) https://www.ford-trucks.com/article/...ter_F150s.html