Dual battery system questions

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2007, 01:24 AM
RadarRick
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dual battery system questions

Has anyone gone with dual batteries under the hood of your F150?

What alternator comes with the 2007 F150 Screw 5.4 (tow package) 4x4?

Where did you put the 2nd battery?

I am an amateur radio operator and will be installing several VHF and HF radios. Would like to operate radios and communication accessories from second battery (without draining truck battery).

Any suggestions?

Old 04-05-2007, 04:15 AM
rustyoldford
Senior User
both my 76 and 85 came from the factory with duals, they used a solenoid to automatically hook them into charging system when engine ran. There may be a camper special package available for your truck, and then the tray package will just bolt in instead of fighting a home built system into some nook or cranny under the hood. Of course theres no reason you can't place the bugger somewhere else.
Regulation on the factory unit was non existent, if battery was dead, it would charge at watever was max for your alternator, at highway speeds, which burned up the 14 gage wire the factory put in. (I used it for electric outboard and ran it dead fishing all day) Either make some changes or charge it at idle.

Old 04-05-2007, 04:39 AM
Randy Pederson
Senior User
Originally Posted by rickheis
Has anyone gone with dual batteries under the hood of your F150?

What alternator comes with the 2007 F150 Screw 5.4 (tow package) 4x4?

Where did you put the 2nd battery?

I am an amateur radio operator and will be installing several VHF and HF radios. Would like to operate radios and communication accessories from second battery (without draining truck battery).

Any suggestions?
I've run dual batts. in most of my trucks over the past 30 years. I'm not sure what you have to start with but there are 2 basic ways to do it.