Sponsored by:

slowing down diesels when towing

Search this Thread

Old 01-23-2011, 01:26 PM
Chief-e9
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
slowing down diesels when towing

I'm new to the diesel world having just buying my first diesel(07 F-350 Dually). I will be using it to pull my travel trailer ( approximately 6000 lbs loaded)as well as my classic car hauler (about the same weight). In the next two years I plan to upgrade to a heavier RV. I live in the mountains of Western NC. I've been reading quite a bit about folks adding exhaust braking accessories to assist slowing the truck down when traveling down grades. In stock form using the T/H mode what can I expect when I am towing down mountains, both interstate and winding two-lane roads? Will my truck brakes along with trailer brakes be sufficient? Does a diesel engine assist in braking if I have it in T/H mode and in third or second gear (like in a gas engine truck)? When towing I seldom go over 60 mph and pretty much faithfully follow speed limits on secondary roads. Hopes this makes sense and thanks in advance for info. Roy

Last edited by Chief-e9; 01-23-2011 at 01:43 PM. Reason: Vehicle clarification and question specific
Old 01-23-2011, 01:32 PM
Zmann
Posting Guru
Received 4 Likes on 2 Posts
the 6.0 in tow haul does a way better job than my last 02 2500 hd gasser at keeping the load under control without braking

a lot of aftermarket tuners can add even better "jake brake " mimicking options

however you don't post your specifics ??

Old 01-23-2011, 07:19 PM
senix
Super Moderator
Received 1,417 Likes on 1,012 Posts
T/h mode for my 08 works fairly well. For the kind of wt you are talking it will work just fine. As you start your decent, push on the brake will help the trans kick down a gear and hold it fairly well.

when you begin to tow much heavier than you have to maybe drop a gear as you crest the hill to assist.