Ford vs The Competition Technical discussion and comparison ONLY. Trolls will not be tolerated.

Expedition Vs Tahoe & Yukon

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2003, 08:39 AM
jejenkins
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Expedition Vs Tahoe & Yukon

I have been shopping for several months for a used Tahoe or Yukon. I have a 26 foot recreational camper that I tow about once each month on a trip.

I was shopping for a 2000 or 2001 Tahoe in excellent condition and with low mileage.

Everytime I found one it was 24 to 26000 dollars. When I found one at the price that I wanted to pay, it had high mileage or had not been treated very well.

The only way I could make my price cap and mileage come together was to shop for a 1999 or older. So I was faced with buying an older model. I ruled that option out. The only other option seemed to pay more money.

Then my girl friend said have you tried the Ford Explorer. I currently had owned a 1998 Blazer. I told her that the Ford Explorer was not that much different then my Blazer. But then I remembered that I had heard that the Explorer can be optioned with a V8 engine in it.

So I decided to take a look. Well I went to a dealership to test drive a Ford Explorer with the V-8 Engine. While there I saw the Expedition model. I knew about them, but I had never considered it because of shopping exclusively for a Tahoe or Yukon.
I guess I had kind of dismissed them because of looking one time at a Ford Navigotor and running away becuase of the price. I kind of compared it to the Cadillac Escalade. To me they were vehicles with lendless options and comforts. And they demanded lots of money from the purchaser..lol.

I test drove a 2000 Expedition with the 4.6 engine. I loved it.

A quick comparison revealed some amazing up front points.