Lost power while driving, wont restart, filthy fuel filter housing

Search this Thread

Old 08-22-2016, 01:35 PM
Darkside
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lost power while driving, wont restart, filthy fuel filter housing

Howdy Folks,

This is my first time posting, though ive been lurking for years. I have researched this problem and troubleshot it to no avail. Then i left town for 2 months... I would like to approach this problem from the beginning with some outside help this time.

1996 F350 7.3l turbo dually, 101,000miles

I had just pulled off the farm, drove about a 1/4 mile and then it started to lose power like running out of fuel. My gauges are broken so I figured i must have messed up and ran it dry. That was not the case. I opened up the fuel filter housing to see if it was getting fuel. OH LORD. The filter was sitting in about 2 inches of sludge, i don't believe it could have been any dirtier!
(I often fill up at little podunk station on our road, I have learned my lesson...)

I cleaned the housing, replaced the filter, blew out the fuel lines leading back to the tank. The filter housing is filling up while cranking, but not KEOE. Fuel is coming out clean.

Took a multimeter to the GPR and it was reading 0 with the key on, so I replaced it. Still nothing. At this point that i left for Oregon to enjoy some cool weather. Now none of this is a fresh as it was and the trail has gone cold, any help would be greatly appreciated. Hopefully the injectors/pump are not trashed.

Thanks,
Silas

1996 F350 7.3l turbo dually, 101,000miles

Last edited by Darkside; 08-22-2016 at 06:43 PM. Reason: so many acronyms.... sheesh
Old 08-22-2016, 02:36 PM
SidecarFlip
Senior User
Received 30 Likes on 30 Posts
Sounds to me like you are growing algae in your fuel. The only cure is a complete drain and the addition of Bio-Kleen fuel additive. Had the same issue myself, it's a pisser.

If the stuff was reddish in color and slimy, it's algae.

Old 08-22-2016, 05:58 PM
Darkside