1997-2006 Expedition & Navigator 1997 - 2002 and 2003 - 2006 Ford Expedition and Lincoln Navigator Discussion

Sudden misfire of cylinders 5678 on 4.6

Search this Thread

Old 01-20-2016, 06:31 AM
RW1998
Freshman User
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
It does have the COPs. I see no evidence of it ever having coil packs. Is there a test for the EGR? Is the EGR valve on the 4.6 cleanable or is it some throw away design? Is it possible the EGR fault is due to the lack of combustion from the failing 4 cylinders? All indications to me are those 4 cylinders are not firing but is it due to lack of fuel, lack of fire or some other condition? Have AM appointment get started back on this later today. I really appreciate all you guys help and advice. This elderly couple are just old friends who pour out their lives helping children until they have nothing left. He is a medically retired vet and she is a girl scout leader. I'm a medically retired vet as well, but 10 years younger and not on SS, but just trying to pay a little back to such wonderful people. I just volunteer to try and do as much light mechanical work as possible for them.

Old 01-20-2016, 07:02 AM
Skauber
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Old 01-20-2016, 07:22 AM
RW1998
Freshman User
Thank you for the video test.

Old 01-20-2016, 09:23 AM
RW1998
Freshman User
During the quick test I could feel vacuum but reveled no change in engine rpms or idle while covering the nipple.

Old 01-20-2016, 09:27 AM
Skauber
Posting Guru
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
That usually means restricted passages or stuck closed EGR-valve. It may be possible to clean it, you'll have to take it out and see if it's possible.

Old 01-20-2016, 11:14 AM
alloro
Received 4,198 Likes on 2,433 Posts
Originally Posted by V8SHO