More Hp to f250 5.4

Search this Thread

Old 10-30-2015, 11:23 PM
PSe6.0
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
More Hp to f250 5.4

Hey guys I'm new to this! But I have a 01 F-250 5.4 with about 267k miles. I'm looking for a little more horsepower for her. I know there's not much to do for a gas, not like the diesel. But I just want a little more throatle response. It is a manual transmission 5 speed. I currently have the edge cts on my 6.0 and runs good. I was looking into getting the Edge Evo and also upgrading the air intake as well. But is it worth the money? Suggestions? Thanks in advance!

Old 10-31-2015, 07:20 AM
enriched&beyound
Fleet Mechanic
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by PSe6.0
Hey guys I'm new to this! But I have a 01 F-250 5.4 with about 267k miles. I'm looking for a little more horsepower for her. I know there's not much to do for a gas, not like the diesel. But I just want a little more throatle response. It is a manual transmission 5 speed. I currently have the edge cts on my 6.0 and runs good. I was looking into getting the Edge Evo and also upgrading the air intake as well. But is it worth the money? Suggestions? Thanks in advance!
Best bang for the buck get a tuner that can be adapted to whatever you got under the hood and tire size and gear ratio. now & in the future. Do not waist your money on cold air intake. Also check your gear ratio...you might have a 3.55 , which in the 3/4 ton truck could make it act/seem a bit sluggish....better to get 4:10 or better.

Hate to rain on your parade ...but

Right now, If you add a tuner to it, yes, you could probably dial up the punch you're looking for but with that much wear and tare already there...in all likelihood...you'd finish it off, if not the engine, the drive train. With 267k on it you might be better to freshen it up front to back.