1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

problem seating distributor properly

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2015, 11:46 AM
FilmCarp
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
problem seating distributor properly

Hi. The end is in sight for my intake manifold gasket repair. It has been a challenge because I'm not too experienced and I get 15 minutes per week to work on it.
I marked the distributor before I pulled it, and I can't get it to seat the last 3/16" or so. My shop manual said to crank the engine just a bit with it in to get it to seat, but that didn't do it. I hesitate to crank too much.
Any advice is appreciated. If it doesn't show in my post I have a 302 in an f 250.
Thanks, dan

Old 01-02-2015, 11:56 AM
David7.3
Postmaster
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Dan your saying 3/16ths so that means your gear is lined up, it's just dropping it into the oil pump drive, If your in wear the distributor is suppose to be you can crank the motor over and it will drop into the slot. remove the rotor, push down on the distributor evenly and jump the starter solenoid, till it plops in, then bring the engine back to TDC and make sure your marks are close. Should have no problemo

Old 01-02-2015, 12:05 PM
FilmCarp
Senior User
Thanks. You're saying I need to keep pressure on it while cranking, right? I'd better do some research on bringing things to TDC first. Dan

Old 01-02-2015, 12:41 PM
Franklin2
Received 1,680 Likes on 1,357 Posts
Too bad you even pulled the dist. That's the one good thing about a Ford 302/351w. You can sneak the manifold out from underneath the dist without pulling it. I guess you see that now after it's too late.