Sponsored by:

Wander issue advice needed

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2014, 03:36 PM
II_Tall
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wander issue advice needed

I'm new to FTE. Thanks to the great advice I've found on here already, I bought an 05 Excursion 4x4 Limited with the 6.0.

One of the biggest issues it has so far is the wander. After hours of reading up on it here, I adjusted the steering box. After driving now for a few days, the slop definitely isn't completely gone. The steering is certainly tighter than before. In fact, I have to consciously force myself to correct less and with less movement because I end up making myself weave all over due to over steering!

I won't likely be pulling anything super heavy anytime soon, but I will be putting several thousand miles on it throughout the spring and summer pulling a little single axle 6x12 enclosed trailer. Probably around 2K-3K lbs max. Of course that plus 5-6 passengers inside along with all the stuff that goes with you for a week or two trip at a time.

So, I'm considering moving on to more of the upgrades/fixes I've read about. I'd love some advice from those of you that have done these upgrades to see which you'd recommend next.

Here's my dilemma:

The handling is responsive (since the adjustment I made).
No major leaning or diving in curves, stopping or starting.
Decently quiet, comfortable overall ride. (granted it has Michelins with 80%-90% tread on it)
No severe bangs or knocks over rough road conditions.

The only real symptom I'm concerned about is the slight wandering that remains even on smooth straight roads with only me in truck and no trailer in tow. I realize it is a heavy duty truck chassis. My old Dodge pickup was worse than this, but then I never really enjoyed towing with it. My 03 suburban was terrific on the road, but needed replacing due to miles and my need for 4x4 (I'm an EMT and Lt. at the local VFD and live in a rural area).

The upgrades/repairs I'm considering are: