1999 to 2016 Super Duty 1999 to 2016 Ford F250, F350, F450 and F550 Super Duty with diesel V8 and gas V8 and V10 engines
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Building up the fleet - your thoughts?

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2014, 10:43 PM
the_auto_tech
Posting Guru
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Building up the fleet - your thoughts?

So, currently I have a 2006 Amarillo (my daily driver), a 2001 Audi allroad (my wife's daily driver), and a 1989 Fox Mustang that's quite built up (my toy). A little background info - I work as an automotive technician and the wife owns a salon. We have 2 kids - 7 and 3, both still in car seats. We make monthly trips back to my parent's place (3.5 hours away). I haul scrap and used tires from work along with trailering cars pretty regularly. My wife hauls the kids to and from school every day. We live in Iowa and get quite a bit of snow and cold weather along with hot summer weather. We both do a fair amount of traveling be it conventions, Craiglist deals, etc.

I've come to the conclusion that we need a truck without a doubt. Between scrap and used tires weekly along with hauling a car on a trailer monthly and using it also for home repairs it gets a fair amount of use. Also, I regularly have other technicians riding in it during lunch time. I haul a fair amount of car parts between the city I live in and the area my parents live. Current truck is a 6.0 Powerstroke, 4WD, Super Crew, automatic, short bed. It's already bulletproofed with all the HPO system upgrades, 4.5" lift, 35" tires, 08+ upgrades, etc. It's been an amazing truck so far. It's a little overkill for what I need for daily use, but I really enjoy the diesel along with yellow being my favorite color. This is the one vehicle I think will stay as I've yet to find anything that could possibly replace it.