1980 - 1986 Bullnose F100, F150 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Early Eighties Bullnose Ford Truck

Idles fine, barely accelerates

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2014, 04:33 PM
Flavoade
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Idles fine, barely accelerates

Hey guys, newbie here.

I do not know much about carburetor systems except they are old.

The truck is a 1984 F150(Non Cali) 2WD Auto. The engine has been swapped to a 1977 Ford engine. I believe it is a 360 Windsor. It was taken out of a motor home, or the platform they built the EMS truck on.

The problem I am having: The truck starts fine after a few pumps and will run great in park. When you put the truck in gear and try to accelerate it will take off and then immediately lose power and usually stalls.

If you let off the gas it will run normally, but if you give it gas it will stumble or barely run and just sit there until you let off the gas. It is currently very hard to go over 20MPH.

Here is a recap of what has happened to the truck:

1.Truck sat up and motor died; replaced with the 1977 engine
2. Truck sat up again; fuel tanks were replaced
3. Truck runs good with no issues
4. Dipstick breaks off. No way to check oil level.
5. Truck starts missing and often dies while driving.
6. Carburetor from original engine installed no changes.
7. Current issue surfaces. Engine stalls when at a stop in gear
8. Another issue; engine stalls when trying to accelerate
9. Take truck to my wrench. Discover accelerator pump primer was not touching the pump. Primer now touches pump and can accelerate with no issues.
10. Same day. After 1 hour driving; engine misses and starts stalling.
11. The wrench adjusts carburetor, says the ignition timing is off and cannot accurately dial in without his tools. Wrench notices ignition module is leaking on the fender. struggled to make it home
12. I install new Motocraft ICM same issues except engine will not miss after running for a while