Sponsored by: Moser

Can you decipher this information for me? (aka help me fix my

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2014, 09:39 PM
Buyerz
Mountain Pass
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Can you decipher this information for me? (aka help me fix my

I apologize in advance for the long post but, I want to hit every aspect to better help diagnose the problem.

I have been pounding my head off of the wall with this engine for a LONG time, I've had it apart 3-4 times now. I started on this truck in 4 years ago freshman year with the intentions to finish it by the end of my senior year. The end is coming up pretty fast this June All I have left is the engine and it will be done. Even though I learned a LOT in the past 4 years, im still a novice so there is alot of ignorance and mistakes on my part of things so please bear with me!

1978 Ford F250 400 Auto 4x4. Ran like poo when I got it. Previous owner (my old man) said it ran before he parked it. Pulled the engine apart Installed new Bearings, Rings, Seals, Oil pump, Timing Chain, and put a new oil pump in.

Had this engine running less than a week ago (Badly) then all the sudden it quit and i messed with it some more. I'm sure it has to be a simple stupid thing, or many.. The furthest I had it was timed by ear, and barely idling. But It ran none the less.

I pulled the carb off and found the EGR was not operating. So I made a spacer plate/new gasket to delete the EGR valve completely. Re-installed and it wouldn't even start now! Was looking to see what I did wrong and could not find anything. NOTE: I had my buddy pull the line off of the filter and check to make sure i had fuel coming out while I was cranking.