Large Truck My truck is bigger than yours. The forum for 2+ ton trucks (all years), COE's, Louisville's, Big-Job's etc.

Need 1967 N600-F600 Budd wheel advice

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2013, 11:20 PM
N600
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need 1967 N600-F600 Budd wheel advice

Newbie here but not in life and have a question that searching has been unable to answer.

I have the widowmaker wheels on a 1967 N600 and need to find safe Budd replacements. They are 6 bolt, center on the studs up front and a Rockwell F106 15,000 lb rear.

Since I have some nice 8.25-20's, the same wheel would be best. The closest I can find at the moment are used military wheels that appear be either a similar or an exact match. Does anyone know if these military wheels are acceptable as a match?

The truck is new to me but a low mile primo farm truck. Plans are to shorten the wheelbase ASAP and add a Dodge dually bed to make a cool pickup. Keep the 300 cu in six and tune a bit with manifold, intake, 390 cfm Holly, headers and prob a cam. Am thinking red paint. Also a ball for a gooseneck but the goal is cruising and car shows with some farm work.

I've been a lurker and so far this looks to be a great forum with some smart people . I'm looking forward to learning plus contributing if I can. Thanks in advance.

Old 08-13-2013, 12:31 PM
truckdog62563
Marmon-Herrington Man
Received 262 Likes on 216 Posts
The military surplus wheels will work fine as long as your truck has the same stud piloted/ball seat type mounting as the wheels. Also you should get 6" wide ones to work best with the 8.25 x 20" tires. They will have the same 6 x 8.75" pattern. It's a pretty clean swap. Stu

Old 08-13-2013, 02:02 PM
N600
Senior User
Stu--very helpful info-thank you very much I have access to military wheels but was not sure. What is "ball seat"?