1994.5 - 1997 7.3L Power Stroke Diesel  

My first attempt at real body work--Painted!

Search this Thread

Old 06-09-2013, 04:38 PM
427 fordman
Hotshot
Received 54 Likes on 33 Posts
My first attempt at real body work--Painted!

After seeing Bill getting after his rust problem, and races getting rained out, I was inspired to get after mine means I had a free day. This is the only rust on the body except the tailgate, whose replacement isn't far behind. I took a few pics, now realize, this is my first time putting bondo on. I have patched in a panel or two before, but that's it, never did any finish work. Those were rough patches on a race car too.

I've got two coats of bondo on now, with sanding inbetween the two. It's not gonna take much more after I sand again.

This was a good place for me to be doing this kind of work for basically the first time. It's down low where its not real visible. I think it will turn out ok, but I'm still glad it is where it is.

Here's what it started out like

a freshly painted picture

scrap quarter panel from a 66 fairlane 4 door. My donor piece.

Piece is bent and tacked on in a few places. I drilled 5 holes in the bottom lip and welded it through them to fasten there. I took about an hour welding it on, tack here, tack there, move, cool, etc., to try to keep it from warping. All I have is a mig welder, no tig unfortunately.

Here's a pic after the second coat of bondo.

I'm gaining, probably wait till next weekend to move on. I've got primer, paint, and clear in the ol' rattle cans so I'm good to go I think.

Old 06-09-2013, 06:14 PM
fordman67
Hotshot
Received 398 Likes on 269 Posts
Heck yea! Good going!

Old 06-09-2013, 08:54 PM
stainlessstroker95
Postmaster
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
That should turn out just fine. Thats not bad if thats all the rust you have.

Old 06-09-2013, 09:12 PM
fordpride
Post Fiend
Received 14 Likes on 12 Posts
Looks good.

Old 06-09-2013, 09:58 PM
ReBilld
Hotshot
Received 1 Like on 1 Post