1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

newbie here- hey guys, what is this

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2013, 04:50 PM
probepower
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
newbie here- hey guys, what is this

this truck is local to me and as I know the flat head still runs (parked under its power), and I think its only rusted through in in the cab in one spot (where the door post meets the floor board on the driver side front edge), I think the price is fair. It is obviously a merc 1 ton. is there anything else you guys see off the bat with this thing? My ambitions would be to put a cummins (dont know how that would fit) or a 7.3 out of a 97 ford 1 ton. What do you guys think? thanks for your input.

Ford Truck Enthusiasts Forums - probepower's Album: 56 (?) ford 1 ton

ps, sorry if I took the long way around getting you guys to the pictures

Old 03-10-2013, 06:05 PM
tinman52
Welder User

Received 30 Likes on 19 Posts
It's a '53 Mercury F350? with the 9' express box. Pretty rare truck.....
Looks to be in pretty decent shape too. Be kind of a shame to mess with the originality of that truck, IMO.....

Old 03-10-2013, 11:04 PM
carbs & chrome
Senior User
I agree I'd have a tough time putting a diesel in that. What kind of price is on it? Is the tailgate around? How long ago was it parked?

Old 03-10-2013, 11:30 PM
probepower
New User
I just dont see myself puttering around with a flathead- i like the thought of that but i think it would be hugely underpowered by todays standards, and if I ever want to go more than a couple hours drive away from home than id want to know for sure about the reliability of the issue. It is tough to beat the boost acceleration of a turbdiesel and milage for that sake too.

Old 03-10-2013, 11:31 PM
probepower
New User
he is askin $850, I think it was parked there two summers ago

Old 03-11-2013, 02:58 AM
ALBUQ F-1
Fleet Owner
Received 608 Likes on 378 Posts