'07 Explorer engine "missing"

Search this Thread

Old 06-27-2012, 07:37 AM
Engineer_by_trade
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile '07 Explorer engine "missing"

Hello All,

I drive a 4WD '07 V8 Explorer. I've noticed it feels like it's "missing" when I'm driving it. It's like if you were riding a bicycle and the chain slips a little bit intermittently. Also, after stopping, the time between pressing the gas pedal and the engine engaging seems too long. The second thing has been going on a while. Related?

I'm just wondering if anybody has an idea what might be going on.

I've read a couple of threads in this forum regarding mechanics but it seems like the questions were related to special needs, maybe customizations or diesel.

Does anybody recommend a shop in Dallas, just someplace I can trust going forward?

A little bit about me since I'm new to the forum:
I'm an electrical engineer - I love knowing how things work, going back to grade school when I got in trouble for taking my brother's bike completely apart, down to the ball bearings in the wheels. (Notice I didn't take my OWN bike apart, lol).

Last year, the Explorer A/C fan was stuck on high. I was able to find info online (maybe on this site actually) and I replaced the blower's resistor pack myself. If I had more time, I'd tinker a lot more and try doing more stuff myself.

So, my knowledge and experience are pretty limited -- that's why I'm here -- to learn more! Any info is greatly appreciated!

Thanks -- I hope everybody's having a good week out there in the heat!

--Sara

Old 06-28-2012, 06:58 PM
Snuggyworm
Postmaster
hesitation? ry checking ur map sensor and check ur air intake hose. if there are cracks, then u'll need to change out the rubber hose.

unplug ur map sensor, then start the car. if she runs better, then it's the map sensor. replace it.

do u have coil packs on top of ur spark plugs? if so, i'd check them to see if either one is going out.