1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

Help - EZ Wire Harness Troubleshooting

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2012, 06:08 PM
Craig Terry
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Help - EZ Wire Harness Troubleshooting

Ok - so I admit I'm new to the restoration game and I've never rewired a truck before.

Well I took my time with a EZ Wire 21 circuit kit and I was so excited to finally crank her up and beem with pride. I put the key in, turned it and the voltage gauge came to life showing 12 volts. Hmmm I don't hear the electric fuel pump, must just be the new insulation and strap, sure is quiet. So the moment comes and I push the start button......nothing.......I push it again.......nothing. Hmmmm is that burn't copper I smell. I pull out the start switch and manually touch the wires (heck it could be the buttons bad)......spark and the copper glows red. Yep that's copper I smelled. Well I disconnected the battery and now I don't know were to begin to troubleshoot the problem. Help

Old 02-19-2012, 06:14 PM
raytasch
Believe Nothing

Received 244 Likes on 153 Posts
Welcome to the forum. Disconnect everything but the essentials, ignition. Verify you have good heavy grounds between engine and frame and cowl and frame. Everything must be bonded or you run risk of grounding thru a 'hot' wire. Might help to know the configuration you're working with.
Find where the wire you let the smoke out of was routed.

Old 02-19-2012, 06:17 PM
Jolly Roger Joe
Lead Driver
Received 27 Likes on 23 Posts
Craig, Welcome to FTE. What year is your truck? Was the wire hot with the ignition off? Did it get hot only after pushing or while pushing the start button?

Old 02-19-2012, 06:20 PM
Craig Terry
Freshman User
No wasn't hot with ignition switch off.

Old 02-19-2012, 06:23 PM
Craig Terry
Freshman User
Sorry guys - truck is a 55 f100, 351 Windsor, 12 volt system.

Old 02-19-2012, 06:35 PM
Jolly Roger Joe
Lead Driver