1948 - 1956 F1, F100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Fat Fendered and Classic Ford Trucks

IRS, IFS installed on my 50 Merc

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2011, 11:25 AM
Drewsc
Junior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
IRS, IFS installed on my 50 Merc

Hey guy's, figured I would share an update on my 50 Merc build.
So far I have been able to mock up the mustang II ifs from Chassis Engineering. It's the bolt in kit.
Also I have installed a complete IRS from a 93 Lincoln Mark VIII. I removed the assembly from the Lincoln, sand blasted everything, replaced a few bushings and painted/cleared the whole thing. I bought the IRS kit from
Dave Held at Team 322IRS. His kit is great and I would recomend it if anyone is thinking of installing one of these IRS systems. I am only a beginner when it comes to build this truck and I found it fairly easy to install. It is only tacked in place just to make sure I had the measurements correctly and it will get fully welded in this weekend. I also ordered the air bags for the rear so I will have bags in the rear for now and may put some in the front at some point. Still lots to do, but what do you think so far?
Thanks
Drew

I do have a few holes to patch in the fram that I found when I removed the original spring mounts.

Old 12-01-2011, 01:53 PM
Holehawgg
Senior User
K that looks sweet. Really making it hard for me to go back to work. I just want to go to the wreckers, find a rear end, pick up the truck and get going now!!!!. Keep it up. Look forward to seeing the finished project.
remi

Old 12-01-2011, 03:09 PM
ben73058
Logistics Pro
Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
Hey Drew,