Sponsored by: DP Tuner

Looking to buy '99 F350 4x4 auto dually dump truck - newbie here

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2011, 08:09 AM
KMuddzy
Freshman User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Looking to buy '99 F350 4x4 auto dually dump truck - newbie here

Hello. As the post says I am new to the forum as well as to ford diesel trucks. I am looking to purchase this one owner ’99 Ford F350 7.3l diesel auto 4x4 dually stake body dump bed truck with plow hitch & brake controller. It has 135,000 miles and the seller is asking $5,000. I will use this truck to pick up materials for my “farm”, haul mulch & debris, plow my long driveway, and tow a trailer a few times. I will be lucky to put on more than 3,000 road miles a year. Sorry I don’t have pics but here is the description.<O</O
<O</O

I only test drove it once but the truck appears to start, drive, shift and brake fine. The automatic steering column shifter will not go into park and the index is loose so you must start & stop it in neutral and you are guessing when that is but once you find N it is OK. The truck dump body was replaced and is in OK condition. The frame is rusty and appears solid but is starting “sheet rust”. The muffler is completely rusted and the rear shocks are rusted out – as are the supports that hold them. The leaf springs were replaced and appear to be OK. The center drive shaft support at the U joint is gone and the guy is holding it up with a nylon ratchet strap. The engine is dripping oil somewhere – I can’t tell if it is coming from the oil pan and/or somewhere on the engine. The cab is in OK condition with no noticeable rust except for the inside bottom of the doors (outside is OK but inside is rusting out). <O</O
<O</O

I took it to a ford dealer for a pre-purchase inspection. They said the engine and transmission are working fine, GPs are good and the tires and brakes are all good. They found the following in need of repair or replacement:<O</O
<O</O