Cam selection - sorry, I am still learning...

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2011, 03:37 PM
Myfreeford
Senior User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cam selection - sorry, I am still learning...

Here is what I have:
460 D1VE block - rebuilt D3VE heads - I believe the valve springs are a stock replacement - nothing special; ported exhaust, Hedman fulll length headers, Edelbrock 750 cfm, Performer intake manifold.

Here are the cams I am considering:
I am not a racer and the truck is still used for hauling cargo and street use. But, I figured since I have the motor apart, this would be the time to do this. I already picked up a set of the hydraulic lifters that Summit sells in the cam and lifter kits - so I am just looking for the cam. I have read that Summit cams are a decent budget cam as long as they are broken in properly.

If it makes any difference, I will be running dual 2.5" from the headers all the way back.

My first choice:
Summit Racing SUM-3500 - Summit Racing® Camshafts - Overview - SummitRacing.com

Second choice:
Summit Racing SUM-3501 - Summit Racing® Camshafts - Overview - SummitRacing.com

Am I on the right track with one of these cams?

Thanks.

Old 08-23-2011, 05:15 PM
ArdWrknTrk
pedant

Received 15 Likes on 15 Posts
I have used both in my mostly stock engine.
What's your rpm range at highway speed? (gearing and tire size play a role)
What gearbox or transmission do you have?
How much weight do you intend to carry or tow?

For me, with a T-19, stock tire sizes and a 4.10 rear the 3500 cam ran out of steam too soon for the way I drive.
Now that I've swapped in the zF5 perhaps things would be different because rev's are lower on the highway.
But I don't know.

IMO, R/V cams are good for just that. You're not looking for tire smoking acceleration, just to lug that behemoth up to speed by the time the ramp runs out and you have to merge into traffic.