6.4L Power Stroke Diesel Engine fitted to 2008 - 2010 F250, F350 and F450 pickup trucks and F350 + Cab Chassis

Aftermarket Air Filter Question??

Search this Thread

Old 05-04-2011, 11:56 AM
tankkillr
New User
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Aftermarket Air Filter Question??

Hello, I just got a 2008 F250 Superduty 4x4 Lariat with the 6.4L Powerstroke Turbo Diesel engine. I'm new to having a diesel, its the first truck i've ever owned that wasn't gas. I have 38" mud tires on the truck and suspension mod's and I'm looking to increase power and gas mileage all around as best as i can. Anyway, i recently put a K&N air filter into the truck, not the cold air induction unit, just the air filter to replace the stock one. I instantly notice the motor ran a little quieter and i seems gas mileage got a little better. My question however, is that after doing so, i heard that putting an aftermarket air filter into the truck is bad for it, is this true?? Does anyone have any input on this?? I heard it lets too much air into the system and messes with the turbo's boost performance with the motor?? Obviously, i dont want to mess up the turbo, but i dont see how that just the air filter could have such an effect on it? Any help would be great!!!

Last edited by tankkillr; 05-04-2011 at 12:02 PM. Reason: misspelling
Old 05-04-2011, 12:58 PM
senix
Super Moderator
Received 1,438 Likes on 1,029 Posts
I would be more concerned that the k and n does not fit properly and allows too much dirt thru thereby dusting your turbo.

Go back to stock unless you can be sure that there is a good good seal and that the filter is actually filtering.

Old 05-04-2011, 02:29 PM
tankkillr
New User
Originally Posted by senix
I would be more concerned that the k and n does not fit properly and allows too much dirt thru thereby dusting your turbo.

Go back to stock unless you can be sure that there is a good good seal and that the filter is actually filtering.