1967 - 1972 F-100 & Larger F-Series Trucks Discuss the Bumpsides Ford Truck

99-04 super duty leaf spring lift in 71 f250

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2011, 11:12 AM
crazed87bronco
Logistics Pro
Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
99-04 super duty leaf spring lift in 71 f250

well here's how it begins alot of talk been going on in this forum and the dentside forums haven't seen much picture threads about the 99-04 super duty leaf spring swaps in the bumpsides so i'm giving it a try test subject a 71 f250 4x4 crew cab i'm just getting started so keep an eye open for updates and pictures to get started i got a 8'' front and rear leaf spring lift kit from skyjacker starting on the front here's where i am and came to a snag already leafs bolt into the front solid mount but bushings will need shaved down about a 1/16 on each side to keep it even and bolt holes need enlarged i'm using the old bolts for now to test before i get the right size front axle ended up being in the same position but the problem so far is the rear shackles they tilt forward instead of backward question for you's the rear shackle must lean backwards toward the rear of the truck right? and whats the ideal angle? here's the pics of problem 1 any suggestions to fix this? can't move forward until this is resolved.

old leafs shackle angle
Name:  ImportedPhotos000462.jpg
Views: 16155
Size:  121.9 KB

Name:  ImportedPhotos000452.jpg
Views: 14630
Size:  178.4 KB

super duty leaf shackle angle
Name:  ImportedPhotos00042.jpg
Views: 10792
Size:  154.7 KB

Name:  ImportedPhotos00043.jpg
Views: 9316
Size:  102.6 KB

Name:  ImportedPhotos00065.jpg
Views: 10284
Size:  129.7 KB

Old 04-05-2011, 12:46 AM
wyoming4x4
Posting Guru
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
length of leaf?