Pre-Power Stroke Diesel (7.3L IDI & 6.9L) Diesel Topics Only

Diesel Newbie - I Changed my IP and Injectors - You Can Too

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2011, 09:30 PM
38Chevy454
More Turbo
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Thumbs up Diesel Newbie - I Changed my IP and Injectors - You Can Too

I decided to post on here to let anyone know that is thinking about changing their own injection pump and injectors that you can do it. I am not a diesel expert or really any real diesel experience beyond simple stuff like oil changes and coolant, or simple engine external work like alternator. I have done a lot of internal gas engine mechanical work, but am not a professional mechanic; just work on my own stuff and helping friends. I figured it can't be that hard as long as I pay attention and learn and read on here before starting.

My truck is 88 F-250 4x4 5-speed 7.3 with an ATS 093 turbo. The turbo does make some less room, but it really is only a pain for the back pass side glow plug. It is not much hassle for the injectors or the return lines. The turbo does not affect the IP access. I had a small leak from somewhere, could smell the fumes after shutting off warm engine. It was not leaking enough to drip, but could smell it. Getting maybe 16 mpg if I drive easy and not trying to go 75 mph, hahaha.

Here is my advice to anyone thinking about doing it: go for it. Just read this article in link below, it has all you need. Study this article and the pictures. Print out a copy and have it with you when doing the work as a step-by-step guide:
TikiWiki : IDI Fuel Injection Servicing